Do you feel everyone is getting a little odd? – 3-16-2022

Alaska in March. The locals and the Winter over-stayers often become stressed by the long months of cold and snow. The days have become longer, and we all appreciated the sun on our faces as we went about our daily tasks. However, we hungered for warm breezes and a day of not wearing enough clothes that made us look like shuffling penguins. We desired to see the end of snow and ice. Bright green wood’s and flowing water is what we needed.

Early Spring at the Yukon Quest in Fairbanks, AK

March is closer to the end of the Alaskan Winter, but you are still not there. We often would start acting a little odd. Taking risks traveling long distances over icy roads for no real reason. Snowmobiling, going into places we shouldn’t have. For some, it was an excuse to drink and eat too much on a regular basis.

We were aware of our unsafe behavior we just did not care to control it.

I am seeing similar behavior among neighbors and people I meet during the day in Mississippi. Especially while driving around town. People are just not thinking. Taking more risks than ever as they drive. I believe it’s not the Winter’s lasting touch bothering people but the war in Ukraine and the uncertainties that surround it weighing on people’s hearts.

It is a tough time for people seeking answers to why such a war is being fought, how bad it will get, and will it involve the rest of the world. These thoughts often stir up anger, fear, and sadness.

Gas prices, inflation hitting food costs, house rents etc… is a large concern as well. Having to cut back on spending to make sure basic needs are met for a family is not pleasant.

The only comfort I can find lies in the bible and prayer.

The bible reveals the truth of man’s heart. How men and women will fill their hearts with hate, jealousy, and wickedness instead of love and mercy one to the other? This is our time not to be as our flesh tempts us to be.

As believers in Christ, we are called to show what we were created to be. We are to be full of grace and mercy to those we meet each day. This will help others who suffer from fear and loss of hope during times of stress. I fall short of this, but I know what I should be doing and I pray for a change in my own heart.

We live in a broken world. We often face difficult situations and pain that appear to have no answers. Still, we can rest on God’s Word and the firm truths found within. If you’re seeking answers in hard times, speak these encouraging bible verses over your life. These verses are for you today and every day after.

1. 2 CORINTHIANS 1: 3-4

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

2. ROMANS 8:35

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?

3. PSALM 40:1-3

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.

4. ISAIAH 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

5. 1 PETER 5:7

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

6. JOHN 14:27

Peace, I leave with you; my peace, I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Spring is here for us in Mississippi. Let us embrace the new green leaves and warm sunshine. Let our hearts not be troubled, for He hears the cry of His beloved and will be with us all the way till we are home with Him.

There is a great need in our world for those with hearts of mercy for others. Pray for those in need around you.

Peter D McPheters

Please share this post with those whom you feel would enjoy reading it and would gain peace from it.

At the very bottom of this post, you will find a place to enter your email address. Then, all my future posts will automatically be sent to your email account to read.

2 thoughts on “Do you feel everyone is getting a little odd? – 3-16-2022

Leave a comment