Do you have pecking chickens? – 4-14-2022

One of my chickens is a little mean to me. When the hen sees me stepping into the part of the coop containing the egg nesting boxes, it will start hissing and making sharp cries at me. My other chickens act the opposite. They will coo and cluck softly as I check them for eggs. They allow me to pet them and scratch their chests and necks.

Eating their scratch

I try to talk to the hen who is having a fit with my presence, but I have little success. As I reach towards her, she will strike my hand with her hard beak. I believe she is not a mean chicken. Instead, I think she fears me. She is not protecting the eggs like a “brooding chicken will do.” Why does this bird strike out at me, I wonder?

This hen grew up together with all the other chickens, so why is this one different? Maybe it’s because of the trauma she suffered when she was younger. That is when that possum entered the coop and killed one of her sisters. This may even be the chicken that the red-tailed hawk tried to haul away last summer.

Maybe she’s jealous of the attention I give to Gertrud instead of her. I have given this some thought over the days, for when she pecks you, it hurts. However, this chicken just wants to go its own way. It desires to live by its rules. So even though I provide this hen with protection, food, and water, the chicken does what it wants, including the rejection of my hand and help.

I could whack this chicken and make it into a nice dinner. However, I feel a responsibility toward her. I committed to taking care of her without considering how it felt towards me. Maybe she will change her heart over time and allow me to pet her someday. I do hope so.

We have relationships like this within our families. We may have a child, brother, sister, or even a father and mother that rejects us for no apparent reason. What can we do for our actions and words seem to have no effect in reconciling the relationship that has gone wrong?

The gap you may have between the one you love or care for may only be bridged by understanding the whys of this break in trust between you and them. Humble yourself and seek answers you can act upon. As many of you know, prayer can change things, including other people’s hearts. Seek the Father for the answers you need.

Our heavenly Father had a similar problem with humanity itself. Our sinful nature would not allow Him to have the relationship He had created us for. To mitigate this, our Father sent His Son Jesus to Earth to pay the price for our sin.

This Easter, know this truth. His followers found the tomb to be empty. The Father’s Son had risen from death itself. REJOICE, and again, I say REJOICE! Our Savior now sets upon His throne and intercedes for us before the Father. Jesus, our Redeemer, has paid the price for you and me. We have a new relationship with the Father, His Son, and the Holy Spirit through this saving act.

Happy Easter to you all, and Be Blessed!

The empty tomb.

Peter D McPheters

Please share this post with those you feel would enjoy reading it and gain peace from it.

At the bottom of this post, you will find a place to enter your email address. Then, all my future posts will automatically be sent to your email account to read.

4 thoughts on “Do you have pecking chickens? – 4-14-2022

Leave a comment