Are you finding it hard to function today?

Fishing and hunting are over for the moment as the deep cold has ended even the most committed sportsmen or hunter-gatherers. The spring salmon are still far away, swimming and feeding in the North Pacific.

An icy silence has fallen upon the frozen lands of central Alaska.

It may be hard to believe, but in central Alaska, even with the worst of the cold, people desire to live as normal a life as possible. People are the same all over. We will overcome adversity, whether it’s from the environment, the people we deal with, or even from the failures of our own bodies.

One of the most exciting events during an Alaskan winter is sled dog racing. The Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race is a top event held in Feb of each year. I was able to witness this event twice. It was amazing to see the start of the 1000-mile race through the harshest of environments. The dogs were the most exciting. They could not wait to race. I took this picture below when the temperature was negative forty-four degrees. The dogs and drivers could have cared less. The race was on!

Yukon Quest Starting Line

Watching the start of the race was great fun for all of us who watched it.

It was dark by five o’clock and it was time to go home. We had a one-hundred-and-ten-mile trip back to the base to drive. I went to start the car in the parking lot we were using. I was halfway across the lot with my car in sight when my feet suddenly pointed to the starry night sky.

I lay on the ice for about three minutes, considering if I had broken anything. I told myself that I was all good and returned to my feet.

Once again, I tried to defy gravity, and I failed. The third time convinced me to crawl to the car. I could not maintain any sense of control on the ice. I hoped no one was watching me when I remembered the webcam for Fairbanks shows the parking lot. (Click on the link below). I hope I gave someone a good show.

https://www.newsminer.com/arctic_cam/

As the saying goes, “That was then. This is now.” Today, with all that is happening to you and your family from higher costs, work interruptions, COVID mandates, etc., etc., it is hard to function with any of the past’s normality. Life for many of us has become a lot harder.

The devil and his associates are trying to take full advantage of the travail that humanity is going through. The devil will do what he can to have you live in a state of helplessness.

The same feeling of helplessness that I went through on the ice may be what you are feeling with the turmoil that surrounds you.

Helplessness is just the beginning. The devil wants you to live in fear of what is coming next. He would have you give up on those you care for and yourself as well.

Remember, the devil is a liar. Only God knows what is coming next in your future. God will be there waiting for you to help you with whatever issue or problem you may have.

Thankfully, the Bible speaks about how to overcome the devil and his hunger to destroy you and the ones you love. His words tell us to have faith in Him. To trust in Him:

Isa 41:10

Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

 2Ti 1:7

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

Rom 8:31

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

God wants us to live a life of joy of freedom from fear. Seek Him when the devil comes against you.

He knows your heart and your needs. Call out to Him for the peace you need.

Be Blessed and do well for others. There is a great need in our world for those with hearts of mercy.

Peter D McPheters

Please share this post with those whom you feel would enjoy reading it.

If you desire, at the very bottom of this post, you will find a place to enter your email address. Then, all my future posts will automatically be sent to your email account to read.

4 thoughts on “Are you finding it hard to function today?

  1. Great article, Peter. Many thing around us change, but God is the same yesterday, today, and always. Those who are in Him will find hope, and peace. Read Psalm 46 (and rejoice). Be well and safe. Grace and Peace, Janet

    Like

Leave a comment