So, Are You Becoming Weary? – 11-24-2021

My sister-in-law saw a young coyote crossing near the property the other day. I am sure the scent of the chickens was bringing the varmint in. Hopefully, my chicken pen will keep the animal from getting to my hens. These cold nights have stirred up all the predators. They are hunting for easy calories to fight off the frosty nights of fall.

I have noticed my hens are eating extra food. The cold seems to make the girls drink more as well also. They know what they need to do to fight against the hard winter days ahead. Fatten up!

Gertrude with head up
Water Time

Gertrude is being unique again. She always meets my expectations. Gertrude has taken up residence in one of the laying boxes. I am not sure if it’s any warmer, but she thinks it is. Gertrude is not hurting the other hens, so I leave her be. I think she is one of my chickens who has stopped laying. I never find eggs in her box, so Gertrude is not brooding on any eggs. Hopefully, Gertrude is still paying her way by eating bugs in the yard and the surrounding forest.

I wonder if the other chickens pick on Gertrude, or if it’s the other way around. She may be the one doing the harassing. She always seems to be the first to water and food. Hopefully, she will fit in better with the other hens as the cold pressures them to rely on each other to stay warm.

The Creator, our Heavenly Father, gives the animals the knowledge needed to survive drastic changes in severe weather, hot or cold. Wet or dry. Thankfully, He has given us the Bible and the Holy Spirit to guide us through the daily worries we may face.

As I read His word today, the verse that strikes me is- Psalm 3:3.

Father God, I praise You, Lord, because you are a shield about me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high when I am weary and despised.

We expect the society we live in now to reject us and demean us for our beliefs. As we walk our path as Christians, the stands we take are often misunderstood. Those who live according to the flesh alone often attack people who try to live a righteous life. This is how things are today, and we need to grow stronger in our spiritual life to deal with it head-on.

It is harder for us when those we call friends or family do the same to us as normal society does. The Father knows what you are dealing with. His word speaks to His understanding of your situation, and He will intercede for you. Call out to the Father for His justice in your life.

The word weary moved me in the above verse. In my far past, this was how I felt when struggling with my self-worth, when I felt rejected by others I respected. I was weary, to the point my bones were heavy within my flesh. I was losing hope and felt alone. I prayed for help and wisdom to deal with my situation, and He was faithful.

His word reminded me I could trust in Him. He provided me the peace and wisdom I needed to understand my failings, but also, those who called me a friend I could now see were not at all. So, it was best for me to move on. Hopefully to develop relationships with those who honored the Father.

A place of peace and rest He brings for the weary and heavily burdened.

That is the benefit of attending a church where you can be with like-minded people. They can encourage you in your daily walk. Most of all, you will feel the love from His son Jesus through the members of His church.

He knows your heart. Call out to Him for the peace you need.

Be Blessed and do well for others. There is a great need in our world for those with hearts of mercy.

Peter D McPheters

Please share this post with those whom you feel would enjoy reading it.

If you desire, at the very bottom of this post, you will find a place to enter your email address. Then, all future posts will automatically be sent to your email account to read.

One thought on “So, Are You Becoming Weary? – 11-24-2021

  1. Yes! feeling a little weary myself. thank you. Is this EnGedi? looks like the three fold waterfall there, one of my favorite places on earth.
    and I love Gertrude. maybe I identify with her?
    thanks again for your blog. always uplifting!

    Like

Leave a comment